Site sub navigation accessibility link Page sub nivigation
Main content accessibility link

ICT50115 - Diploma of Information Technology

Take your first step to make the world a better place!


The ACS is the professional association for Australia’s information and communications technology (ICT) sector. We are committed to creating the environment and providing the opportunities for our members and partners to be recognised and succeed. We are passionate about the ICT profession being recognised as a driver of innovation and business – able to deliver real, tangible outcomes.

ACS is a Registered Training Organisation (RTO Code # 40184) in Australia delivering formal qualifications both in Australia and across the Asia Pacific (CRICOS Code # 03405K).


This qualification provides the skills and knowledge for an individual to administer and manage information systems.


The course is a 52-week course and is full-time classroom based. Student will access some materials online and do or submit assessments online, but this will be in addition to the 20 hours per week they will study in the classroom.


Cost of course is  AUD $14,000 (subject to change). For further details contact the delivery partner. 


  • Developed by the Australian professional association for ICT professionals
  • Nationally recognised qualification in Australia
  • Pathway into Bachelor degree courses in Australia
  • Taught by well-qualified and experienced teachers
  • Students develop practical IT and business skills as well as gaining a qualification
  • Complimentary twelve month access to ACS’ digital professional development library containing over 5,000 learning assets.


Education Centre Australia (ECA)
Level 3, 55 Regent St
Chippendale NSW 2008
T: 02 9318 8181


There are 4 core units of competency and 16 elective units in the ICT50115 Diploma of IT (a total of 20 units of competency). These have been clustered into five subjects: four core subjects, which all students complete, and 3 elective subjects, from which students choose one stream to complete.

Each “subject” contains between 3 and 5 units of competency, as illustrated in the course structure diagram. Click here to view diagram
FOUR (4) MANDATORY SUBJECTS (15 units of competency):

Concepts of Professionalism

BSBWHS501 – Ensure a safe workplace
ICTICT610 – Manage copyright, ethics and privacy in an ICT environment
BSBSUS501 – Develop workplace policy and procedures for sustainability
BSBWOR502 – Lead and manage team effectiveness

Problem Solving

BSBCRT501 – Originate and develop concepts
ICTSAD501 – Model data objects
ICTSAD502 – Model data processes
ICTICT608 – Interact with clients on a business level

Business Skills

BSBINN601 – Lead and manage organisational change
ICTICT511 – Match ICT needs with the strategic direction of the enterprise
ICTPMG501 – Manage ICT projects
ICTSAS502 – Establish and maintain client user liaison

Systems Development

ICTICT509 – Gather data to identify business requirements
ICTNWK514 – Model preferred system solutions
ICTPRG527– Apply intermediate object-oriented language skills
(5 units of competency):

Delivery Partners may not offer ALL elective streams at all times. Please check the Partner's website or contact the Partner directly to check which elective subjects are being offered before you enrol.

Stream 1: Software Development

ICTPRG501 – Apply advanced object-oriented language skills
ICTPRG524 – Develop high-level object-oriented class specifications

Web Design
ICTWEB501 – Build a dynamic website
ICTWEB502 – Create dynamic web pages
ICTWEB503 – Create web-based programs

Stream 2: Information Systems

Emerging Technologies
ICTICT501 – Research and review hardware technology options for organisations
ICTWEB515 – Implement and use web services

Business Analysis
ICTICT515 – Verify client business requirements
ICTICT510 – Determine appropriate ICT strategies and solutions
ICTSAD506 – Produce a feasibility report

Stream 3: Computer Network

Network Design
ICTNWK504 – Design and implement an integrated server solution
ICTNWK505 – Design, build and test a network server

Network Control
ICTICT501 – Research and review hardware technology options for organisations
ICTNWK516 – Determine best-fit topology for a local network
ICTNWK517 – Determine best-fit topology for a wide area network

Entry Requirements for Acceptance into the ICT50115 Diploma of Information Technology

In order to apply for entry into the ICT50115 Diploma of Information Technology, you must satisfy the following requirements:

  • Successful completion of Year 12 or equivalent
  • IELTS score of 5.5 with no band below 5 or equivalent
  • Must be over 18 years of age
  • Completion of an IT Knowledge Entrance Test


The ACS Student Handbook has more information for students and potential students of the ICT50115 Diploma of Information Technology offered by the ACS.  
Student Handbook

RTO Code 40184    CRICOS Code 03405K

Back to top of the page